LABDARA SCHOLARSHIPS AWARDED:  The Labdara Scholarship Trust Fund generated enough funds this past year to enable the Labdara Foundation Board of Directors to award 3 scholarships.  They were presented to the 3 successful candidates at a special Scholarships Awards Ceremony at the Labdara Lithuanian Nursing Home on Sunday, February 17th in the afternoon in the Tado Svetainė common room. This year’s recipients were (in alphabetical order): 


Livija Čygas (4th year Communications and Film Studies student at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario). Livija is the current president of the Canadian Lithuanian Youth Association (Kanados Lietuviu Jaunimo Sajunga) and is active in the Toronto Lithuanian Community and the Franciscan Resurrection Parish in Toronto.

Lucas Kapeniak (4th year Chemistry student at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario). Lucas has distinguished himself in the faculty of chemistry, is research assistant to his chemistry professor and has participated in international chemistry conferences. He is an active member of the Toronto Lithuanian drama group “Žalios Lankos”, sings in both the Lithuanian Martyr’s Mississauga and Etobicoke Lithuanian Franciscan Fathers’ Resurrection parishes, danced with the Gintaras Lithuanian folk dance ensemble and was camp counsellor at the Kretinga Lithuanian summer camp

Meda Krukonis (1st year Human Kinetics student at the University of Guelph in Guelph, Ontario). She danced with the Gintaras Lithuanian folk dance ensemble, is a graduate of the Advanced Lithuanian course program and spends her summers as a camp counsellor at the Kretinga Lithuanian summer camp.

Congratulations to the scholarship recipients and sincere best wishes for every success in your future!

The Board of Directors formed the Scholarship Committee to review applications and select this year’s scholarship recipients. The Committee was chaired by Board Director Zita Bersėnas-Cers and was made up of: LN representatives and Labdara Foundation’s internal auditors: Genė Kobelskis and Ed Stravinskas as well as educators: Aušra Karka and Audra Paulionis-Reed. Sincere and huge thanks to the members on this Committee for their enthusiasm and time.

LABDARA SCHOLARSHIP awards ceremony, February 17, 2019 at Labdara Nursing Home from left to right: Scholarship Committee members: Gene Kobelskis and Aušra Karka, Meda Krukonis (scholarship recipient), Judy Kavaliauskas (Board Chair), Lucas Kapeniak (scholarship recipient), Zita Bersėnas-Cers (Scholarship Committee Chair and Board Director), Ed Stravinskas (LN rep and internal auditor), Raymond Smolskis (Board Director).


Learn how you can help sustain Labdara Nursing Home

Labdara Lithuanian Nursing Home is owned by the Labdara Foundation, a not-for-profit registered charity B/N 118987775RR0001.
The home is managed by UniversalCare Inc.

Website Sponsored by PARAMA Credit Union Ltd.


   Contact Form